Skip to main content
Spirit Logo
Loch Etive, Argyll (Credit: Airborne Lens)
Home / Explore / Regions / Argyll and the Isles

Argyll and the Isles

From the Mull of Kintyre north to Oban and beyond, mainland Argyll covers a large swathe of western Scotland. However, this region also encompasses many of the most famous west coast islands outwith the Outer Hebrides and Skye – a total of 23 inhabited islands. All these islands – including Mull and Iona, Tiree and Coll, Islay and Jura, Eigg and Rum – present stunning natural landscapes and their own unique take on Scottish and Hebridean culture.

On the mainland, from the larger towns such as Campbeltown, Lochgilphead and Oban, you can explore much of the area. Historical attractions such as Inverary Jail and Kilmartin Glen vie with natural attractions and the enduring distractions of golf, fishing and some Munro bagging. And, if Munros are your thing, then the island of Mull has the most western Munro in Scotland, Ben More. Throughout Argyll & the Isles, there are seven National Nature Reserves making this area one of the best places in Scotland for wildlife watching.

Read more

Locations in Argyll and the Isles

Swipe left for more

Itineraries within Argyll and the Isles